Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options

Download this Issue


Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

This collection, digitized in collaboration with the Michigan Daily and the Board for Student Publications, contains materials that are protected by copyright law. Access to these materials is provided for non-profit educational and research purposes. If you use an item from this collection, it is your responsibility to consider the work's copyright status and obtain any required permission.

February 15, 1939 - Image 5

Resource type:
The Michigan Daily, 1939-02-15

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

R ay-Qf'Band Is Announced Intramural Debators To Meet


Novel Widget

'Cotton Pickers'
Will Play Here
Friday, Feb.24
Dorothy Derrick, Featured
With MKinney's Band;
To Have Floor Show I
McKinney's Cotton Pickers will
play for the "Pay-Off," to be given
at 9 p.m. Friday, Feb. 24, in the ball-
room of the League, Barbara Heath,
'39, music chairman, announced yes-
The Cotton Pickers, a colored band
under the direction of William Mc-
Kinney, features Dorothy Derrick,
"Harlem's Favorite Songstress." Miss
Derrick has been appearing at the
Grand Terrace, Chicago, for the past
two years with Fletcher Henderson
and Earl Hines.
Band Gains Fame
One of the first bands to gain
uccognition in "The Hall of:Fame in
Radio Land," the Cotton Pickers have
played at the Graystone Ballroom,
Detroit; Sabastians Cotton Club; Los
Angeles, Roseland Ballroom, New
York; The Steel Pier, Atlantic City,
and at Yale, Harvard, Cornell and
Princeton proms.
"The Pay-Off." annual sweater-
and-skirt dance sponsored by Mortar
Board, senior women's honorary soci-
ety, was instituted last year with the
idea of having it become traditional.
Tickets are $1.50 and can be secured
from any member of the society.
Committee Members Named
Jenny Petersen', president; is chair-
man of the dance and her committee
is composed of Barbara Heath, chair-,
man of music and ballroom; Jean
Holland, ticket chairman; Norma
Curtis, chairman of favors; Grace
Wilson, patrons chairman; Janet Ful-
lenwider, entertainment chairman,
and Marcia Connell, publicity chair-
Jimmy Raschel and his orchestra
played last year and the dance was
held under the chairmanship of
Betty Gatward, '38. Marie Sawyer, '38,
3nd Doug Gregory, '39, danced three
novelty numbers.
The floor show will be announced
later, Miss Connell said.

For tailored, streamlined charm,
a double-breasted coat is an addi-
tion to any spring wardrobe. Latest
models show a slightly flared hem-



Topic Of Local
Interest To Be
Debate Theme
Organizations Are Asked
To Enter Contestants
In Intramural Series
A mass meeting for all women in-
terested in competing in the 1939
women's intramural debate series,
sponsored by the League Undergradu-
ate Council, will be held at 4 p.m. to-
day in room 3209 Angell Hall.
Mrs. Frederic O. Crandall, faculty
advisor for the debates, will explain
the organization of the series as it
is being planned this year by Betty
Bricker, '40, and Ann Hawley, '40,
co-chairmen. It has been suggested
that a debate topic of local interest
be chosen for the series. Subsidiza-
tion of athletics, on of the proposed
subjects, will be discussed tomorrow.
Teams Represent Organizations
Teams of two members each, repre-
enting any campus organization, may
enter the debate series. Sororities,
dormitories, league houses and the
Ann Arbor Independents are re-
quested to announce their entries at
the mass meeting.
The intramural debate series will
be run as an elimination contest. It
is expected that approximately 16
teams will compete in the first round,
eight in the second, four in the third
and two in the finals. The initial
speeches in each contest will be limit--
ed to seven minutes, and the rebut-
tals must not exceed four minutes.
First Organized Last Year
Last year's debate series, organized
for the first time under Helen Jean
Dean, '39, and Barbara Paterson,
'39, to-chairmen, included 48 women
debaters. It is expected that approxi-
mately that number will attend the
mass meeting tomorrow.
Activities chairmen of dormitories,
sororities and league houses will be
contacted by committee members of
the debate series to remind them of
mass meeting and to explain the or-
ganization of the contest.
Two Big Ten debate contests on
the question concerning the employ-
ment of married women are listed
for the middle of March. A negative
squad will go to Iowa and an affirm-
ative will meet Northwestern here.
r.,and /'
The engagement of Rita Mary
Wellman to Glen A. Phelps was an-
nounced at a tea given in the Mary
Barton Henderson room of the
League Sunday by Mrs. Hugh H.
Wellman of Washtenaw Terrace. Mr.
Phelps is the son of Mr. and Mrs.
R. W. Phelps of Orillia, Ont. He was
graduated from the University in
1938. Miss Wellman was affiliated
with Alpha Delta Pi sorority.
Alice Reiske, daughter of Mrs.
Louis A. Dall of Birmingham, was
married to Joseph Crotzer of Mount
Clemens, at 8:30 p.m., Friday, Feb.
3, at the First Baptist Church in
Birmingham. The bride was affiliat-
ed with Chi Omega sorority. The
couple will live in Mount Pleasant.
Sarah C. Paine was wed to F.
Ernest Parks, Jr., '39P, son of Mr.
and Mrs. F. E. Parks of Marion, Ill.,
Saturday, Feb. 4, in the League
Chapel. The bride is the daughter of
Mrs. Grace I. Paine of Ypsilanti. Mr.
Parks is a graduate of the University
of Illinois.

The wedding of Marjorie Wilson,
daughter of James Wilson, of Keno-
sha, Wis., to William Devereaux, son
of Mrs. William Devereaux, of De-
troit, took place Friday in Boston.
Mrs. Devereaux attended school in
Boston, and Mr. Devereaux was affili-
ated with Beta Theta Pi at the Uni-
Mosher Hall Holds
Mosher Hall entertained 175 guests
at its annual formal faculty recep-
,ion from 8:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.
yesterday. Those in the receiving line
were Miss Alice Lloyd, Dean of Wo-
men; Mrs. Frederick G. Ray, social
director; Miss Kathleen Hamm,
director, and Mary Frances Brown,
39, house president.
Assisting in receiving were Mrs.
Harry Mott, Miss Edith Barnard,
Mrs. Holly Dobbins, Miss Angelene
Malisewski, and Miss Rosetta Himler.
Those who poured were Mrs. Ellery
Preston, Mrs. Stanley Mitchell, Miss
Mary Gleason, Miss Sara Rowe, Mrs.
Harry Bacher, and Miss Jeannette








Back to Top

© 2022 Regents of the University of Michigan