Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options


Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

The University of Michigan Library provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes. These materials may be under copyright. If you decide to use any of these materials, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Bentley Historical Library at bentley.ref@umich.edu

October 02, 1987 - Image 69

Resource type:
The Detroit Jewish News, 1987-10-02

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

iI Fred M. Butzel Memorial Award
for Distinguished Community Service

In keeping with the model of community
service that characterized the life and work
of Fred M. Butzel, this year's Butzel Award
goes to George M. (Mike) Zeltzer.

Every area of Jewish life interests our
awardee. As president of the Jewish Wel-
fare Federation, he served in the organiza-
tion's top volunteer position—and then
worked with the professional staff as execu-
tive vice-president and endowment director.
A lay leader once again, he currently chairs
the Endowment Committee.

George M. Zeltzer

Former president of the United Hebrew
Schools, this year's Butzel Awardee has
been recognized nationally for his con-
tributions to Jewish life. He is president of
the National Foundation for Jewish Culture
and recently received the American Jewish
Committee's Cyrus Adler Distinguished
Community Service Award.


With Isaac Bashevis Singer at an
American Jewish Committee dinner
honoring Mike Zeltzer

Recipient of an award
for leadership
from the Council of
Jewish Federations

Length of service to the Jewish community
Service to the total Jewish community
and its constituent parts
Service in the general community as a representative
of the Jewish community
Character and integrity in communal affairs


1951: Julian H. Krolik
1952: Henry Wineman
1953: William Friedman
1954: Abraham Srere
1955: Mrs. Joseph H. Ehrlich
1956: Samuel H. Rubiner
1957: Henry M. Butzel
1958: Abe Kasle
1959: Sidney J. Allen
1960: Theodore Levin
1961: Irwin I. Cohn
1962: Mrs. Henry Wineman
1963: Leonard N. Simons
1964: Max M. Fisher
1965: Nate S. Shapero
1966: Morris Carve
1967: Tom Borman
Abraham Borman
1968: Mrs. Harry L. Jones
1969: Paul Zuckerman
1970: Hyman Safran
1971: Louis Berry
1972: Erwin S. Simon
1973: Mrs. H. C. Broder
1974: Alan E. Schwartz
1975: George M. Stutz
1976: Jack O. Lefton
1977: Mrs. Julian H. Krolik
1978: Mandell L. Berman
1979: Stanley J. Winkelman
1980: Phillip Stollman
Mrs. Max (Frieda) Stollman
1981: Irwin Green
1982: Philip Slomovitz
1983: Martin E. Citrin
1984: Samuel Frankel
1985: Joseph H. Jackier
Mrs. Joseph H. (Edythe) Jackier
1986: David Handleman

Back to Top

© 2021 Regents of the University of Michigan