Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options


Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

The University of Michigan Library provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes. These materials may be under copyright. If you decide to use any of these materials, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Bentley Historical Library at bentley.ref@umich.edu

May 22, 2014 - Image 22

Resource type:
The Detroit Jewish News, 2014-05-22

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.


Casual yet elegant.


Leadership Awards


Federation to recognize community
leaders at May dinner.

andfull of

Irwin Elson

Susie Citrin

The late Jerome
L. Schostak

Lois Teicher





Marty Maddin


Jason Klein

Molly Chernow



Ladies Night Out

Wed, June 4 I $30 ea


he Jewish Federation of
Metropolitan Detroit will
honor multiple community
leaders at its 10th annual Leadership
Awards Night on Thursday, May
29, which begins at 5:15 p.m. at the
Berman Center for the Performing
Arts inside the Jewish Community
Center in West Bloomfield.

Lifetime Achievement

Irwin Elson and Susie Citrin will

June 6 -22, 2014

Tickets: $20 - $24 ea I Saturday and Sunday matinees

415 S Lafayette Ave, Royal Oak, MI 48067
248.541.6430 I All seats reserved


Sponsored by

iner's Den


By L. Frank Baum. With Music and Lyrics by Harold Arlen and E.Y. Harburg. Background Music by Herbert Stothart. Dance and
Vocal Arrangements by Peter Howard. Orchestration by Larry Wilcox. Adapted by John Kane for the Royal Shakespeare
Company. Based upon the Classical Motion Picture owned by Turner Entertainment Co. and distributed in all media by Warner Bros. "The Wizard of

(RSC version) is produced by special arrangement with Tams-Witmark Music Library, Inc, New York, NY.


May 22 • 2014

receive Federation's 2014 Lifetime
Achievement Award, the commu-
nity's highest tribute. Jerome "Jerry"
L. Schostak, who died May 9, will
receive the honor posthumously.
Irwin Elson has spent much of
his life caring for the community
he loves. After participating in a
Hadracha Leadership Program in
the 1970s, he assumed several posi-
tions in the community, including
president of the Jewish Community
Center, board member of JVS,
Federation and the United Jewish
Foundation, and chair of both the
Jewish Education Division and the
Planning and Allocations Steering
Susie Citrin began her volunteer
activities at Jewish Family Service,
rising to the office of board presi-
dent. She has served on the board of
the B'nai Brith Youth Organization,
as chair of Federation's Annual
Campaign, president of Women's

Philanthropy, chair of the Leonard
N. Simons Jewish Community
Archives Committee and board
member of the Birmingham Temple.
She also has received the Sylvia
Simon Greenberg Award and the
United Way Heart of Gold.
Jerome L. Schostak held several
leadership positions, including chair
of the Capital Campaign at Hillel
Day School, and chair of both the
Federation Capital Needs Division
and the Real Estate and Property
Management Committee. He was
an officer and board member of
Federation, the United Jewish
Foundation and the Jewish Fund. His
obituary appears in this week's IN.

Maas Prize Winner

Lois Teicher is the recipient of the
2014 Benard L. Maas Prize for
Achievement in Fine Arts, awarded
annually to celebrate and honor indi-
viduals and organizations whose work
enhances Jewish life in Michigan in
the categories of performing arts, fine
arts, and humanities. The 2014 award
is being given in the fine arts category.
An artist who continuously chal-
lenges herself to grow intellectu-
ally, Teicher has shared what she has
learned through an extraordinary
body of work. There is no other Jewish
woman of her experience or stature
working as a sculptor in the region.
Among her many honors, Teicher

Back to Top

© 2021 Regents of the University of Michigan