Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options


Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

The University of Michigan Library provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes. These materials may be under copyright. If you decide to use any of these materials, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Bentley Historical Library at bentley.ref@umich.edu

May 24, 2012 - Image 82

Resource type:
The Detroit Jewish News, 2012-05-24

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

The Jewish Federation's Alliance for Jewish Education
and the Jewish Community Center of Metropolitan Detroit
and the entire Jewish community wish




Join us in recognizing the students who have
completed their two-year commitment to study

Florence Melton Adult Mini-School
SiyyumlGraduation Ceremony
Tuesday, June 5, 2012
15 Sivan 5772
7:00 PM


To the 2012/5772 Graduates of the
Florence Melton Adult Mini-School of
Metropolitan Detroit

Julie August, Janice Bloom, Susan Bloom, Nancy Bechek Bluth, Lauren Bruss,

Keynote Speaker

Rabbi Morey Schwartz

Director of Curriculum and Faculty Development
Florence Melton Adult Mini-School
Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Jewish Community Center
D. Dan and Betty Kahn Building
Eugene and Marcia Applebaum
Jewish Community Campus
6600 West Maple Road
West Bloomfield

Marcy Burnstein, Joan Chernoff Epstein, Elaine Cohen, Marilyn Dizik, Charlotte

Dubin, Marilynn Emmer, Richard Emmer, Karen Farber, Nancy Firestone, Andrea

Gold, Nancy Goldfaden, Arna Goldstein, Sherri Goodman, Susan Green, Myra

Greenwald, Jan Hauser, Ellen Hechler, Fran Heicklen, Ronna Heller, Florence

Herrmann, Eileen Holzman, Roberta Ingber, Laurence Jacobs, Ruth Katsnelson,

Linda Katzen, Marissa Kelin, Janice Kelman, Natasha Kendal, Diana Kovnat,

Celia Leikin, George Leikin, Stuart Lockman, Betsy Loomus, Lorraine Lotzoff, Iris

Todah Rabah/Thank you to our
Florence Melton Adult Mini-School Instructors
of the class of 2012/5772:

Markham, Camille McMillan, Ellen Meisner, Francine Menken, Sharon Miller,

Rabbi Keren Alpert
Ruth Bergman
Rabbi Michele Faudem
Rabbi Eli Finkelman
Rabbi Rob Morals
Aviva Panush
Rebecca Starr

Helen Miller, Marianne Pesick, Linda Polk, Amy Rabin, Jerome Rosenthal, Laurie

Rosenthal, Debora Rottman, Randi Sakwa, Phyllis Salomon, Judi Schram, Toni

Schwartz, Abbe Sherbin, Susan Shevrin, Neal Silver, Carol Sofen, Rita Stein, Ruth

Stern, Elizabeth Wasserman, Gretchen Weiner, Andria Weiss, Deborah Williams,

Julie Yaker, Susan Yorke, Mindy Young, Susan Young, Denise Zonder

For more information on Melton or to RSVP,
please contact Marion Bronstein at 248-205-2557
email: bronstein@jfmd.org



A Project of The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

the florence melton

r. ,'" adult mlnl school




Save up to $9,600 per year when you sign a lease by June 30!

Ash us how to win a. free flat-screen TV when you move in.


Grab your dance shoes, and come see why so many people call
The Heritage Southfield home. Enjoy a spectacular evening of
dancing, delicious hors d'oeuvres, wine and more —all in the
elegant surroundings of our community. The Swing band will
keep your toes tapping, on and off the dance floor. This event is
sure to fill up fast, so reserve your spot today!

Wednesday, May 30 • 5 to 7 P.M.

Bring this invitation as your admission

Complimentary wine, hors d'oeuvres and entertainment

Reservations: Call Christina at (248) 727-2008 by May 28



Independent Living • Personalized Assisted Living


Eleven Mile Road, Southfield, Michigan



Your story continues here...




May 24 - 2012

18710-R0601-0512 SW

.01 C5‘


New Leaders
At Adat Shalom
David Sherbin of West Bloomfield
will be installed as the new president
of Adat Shalom
Synagogue in
Farmington Hills,
following "Shabbat
Rocks" and a
Shabbat family
dinner on Friday,
June 1.
New executive
David Sherbin
committee and
board members
as well as incoming Men's Club and
Memorial Park officers and board
members also will be installed that
Also elected at Adat Shalom's
annual meeting last month were
First Vice President Lori Issner,
Vice President Norma Dorman,
Recording Secretary Richard Tyner,
Treasurer Sandy Vieder and Executive
Committee Members-at-Large Joyce
Weingarten, Carol Weintraub Fogel
and Shannon Dickstein.
Newly elected synagogue board
members are Gary Graff, Diane
Howitt, Jay Levin and Stuart Logan.
This year's Adat Shalom Memorial
Park board members are Robert
Dunsky, Joel Gershenson, Nancy
Handelman, Roger Leemis, Irving
Lichtman, Jack Rubin, David Schostak,
Robert Sher, Leonard Siegal, Jeffrey
Supowit, Martin Wiener, Ralph
Woronoff and Neal Zalenko.

Adat Shalom Men's Club
Holds Elections
Joe Wener of West Bloomfield has
been elected president of the Adat
Shalom Men's Club for the coming
Along with Wener,
these individuals
will be leading the
Adat Shalom Men's
Club this coming
season: Senior Vice
President George
Programming Vice
Joe Wener
Presidents Larry
Kaplan and Joey Lebovic,
Membership Vice President Jeffrey
Cymerint, Treasurer Steven Woronoff,
Recording Secretary Martin Kaye and
Corresponding Secretary David
The 2012-13 Men's Club trustees
will be Les Berman, Jason Biederman,
Alan Chandross, Scott Cooper,
Bradley Feldman, Michael Feldman,
Gary Granat, Maury Katzman, Gary
Morof, Aaron Perlman, Ken Podell,
Neil Robin, Donald Rudick, Harold
Schiff, Murray Sittsamer, Seymour
Subar and Lon Zaback.

Back to Top

© 2021 Regents of the University of Michigan