100%

Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options

Download this Issue

Share

Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

This collection, digitized in collaboration with the Michigan Daily and the Board for Student Publications, contains materials that are protected by copyright law. Access to these materials is provided for non-profit educational and research purposes. If you use an item from this collection, it is your responsibility to consider the work's copyright status and obtain any required permission.

May 15, 2006 - Image 2

Resource type:
Text
Publication:
Michigan Daily Summer Weekly, 2006-05-15

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

2 - The Michigan Daily - Monday, May 15, 2006
Bush considers border control options

I

Congress worries
patrol duties would strain
National Guard troops
WASHINGTON (AP)- On the
eve of President Bush's Oval Office
address on immigration, members of
Congress expressed concern yesterday
that using National Guard troops to
keep illegal immigrants from crossing
the border would further burden an
already overextended military.
The criticism came from Democrats,
but also an important Republican nego-
tiator in the immigration debate - Sen.
Chuck Hagel of Nebraska. He said
National Guard troops cannot secure the
border over the long term and that he does
not think it is wise even in the short term.
"We've got National Guard members
on their second, third and fourth tours
in Iraq," Hagel said. "We have stretched

our military as thin as we have ever seen
it in modern times. And what in the
world are we talking about here,sending
a National Guard that we may not have
any capacity to send up to or down to
protect borders? That's not their role."
The president's national security
adviser said sending troops to patrol the
border with Mexico is among the ideas
Bush is considering on immigration.
Bush plans to say in his national
address at 8 p.m. tonight how the gov-
ernment should deal with border securi-
ty and illegal immigrants already in the
United States, Stephen Hadley said.
"This is not about militarizing the bor-
der," Hadley said on "Face the Nation"
on CBS. "The president is looking to do
everything he can to secure the border.
It's what the American people want."
Bush is considering the National Guard
plan as he seeks support from conserva-
tives in Congress for his immigration bill.

Bush wants to allow foreigners to get tem-
porary work permits to enter and work in
the United States but many conservatives
want a tougher approach on illegal immi-
grants trying to sneak into the country.
Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist
(R-Tenn.) said he supported using the
National Guard on the Mexican border.
He said lawmakers who doubt that the
National Guard, whose members have
served for years in Iraq and went to the
Gulf Coast after last summer's hurri-
canes, could take on border patrol duty
are "whining" and "moaning."
"We've got to secure our borders," Frist
said on CNN's "Late Edition." "We hear
it from the American people. We've got
millions of people coming across that bor-
der. First and foremost, secure the border,
whatever it takes. Everything else we've
done has failed. We've got to face that.
And so we need to bring in, I believe, the
National Guard."

I
I

A Mexican citizen looks over a fence marking the U.S. border near San Diego
last month. President Bush is expected to announce a plan to use National
Guard troops to patrol the boarder in his address on immigration tonight.
CORRECTIONS
Please report any error in the Daily to corrections@michigandaily.com.
420 Maynard St., Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1327
www.michigandaily.com
JEREMvY DAVIDSON ALEXIs FLOYD
Editor in Chief Business/Finance Manager
davidson@michigandaily.com business@michigandaily.com
647-3336 764-0558

.
193U Whittaker Rd
' tiNp
Ypsilan (.6644
3a)
F: r 96 961.6646
3w
Fax. (734)

CONTACT INFORMATION
News Tips
Corrections
Letters to the Editor
Photography Department
Arts Section
Editorial Page
Sports Section
Display Sales
Classified Sales
Online Sales
Finance

Newsroom: 763-2459
Office hours: Sun.-Thurs. 11 a.m. - 2 a.m.
news@michigandaily.com
corrections@michigandaily.com
tothedaily@michigandaily.com
photo@michigandaily.com
764-0563
artspage@michigandaily.com
763-0379
opinion@michigandaily.com
763-0379
sports@michigandaily.com
764-8585
display@michigandaily.com
764-0554
classified@michigandaily.com
764-0557
anlineads@michigandaily.com
615-0135
finance@michigandaily.com
763-3246

p7ast deyt 5L!Ct " toiwn

Jeffrey Bloomer Managing Editor bloomer@michigandaily.com
Carissa Miller Managing News Editor miller@michigandaily.com
NEWS EDITORS: Kelly Fraser, Leah Graboski
Imran Syed Editorial Page Editor syed@michigandaily.com
Scott Bell Managing Sports Editor bell@michigandaily.com
ASSOCIATE SPORTS EDITOR: H. Jose Bosch
Andrew Klein Managing Arts Editor klein@michigandaily.com
ASSOCIATE ARTS EDITOR: ,Cs ei
Eugene Robertson Managing Photo Editor robertson@michigandaily.com
ASSOCIATE PHOTO EDITOR: Angela Cesere
Angela Cesere Managing Online Editor cesere@michigandaily.com
Phil Dokas Managing Online Editor dokas@michigandaily.com
BUSINESS STAFF
Ben Schrotenboer Display Sales Manager
ASSOCIATE SUMMER MANAGER: David Dai
Matthew PeurachClassified Sales Manager
Erica Brehmer Layout Manager
Trent Busakowski Production Manager
The Michigan Daily (ISSN 0T45-967) is published Monday through Friday during the fall and winter terms by students at
the University of Michigan. One copy is available free of charge to all readers. Additional copies may be picked up at the
Daily's office for $2. Subscriptions for fall term, starting in September, via U.S. mall are $110. Winter term (January through
April) is $115, yearlong (September through April) is $195. University affiliates are subject to a reduced subscription rate.
On-campus subscriptions for fall term are $35. Subscriptions must be prepaid. The Michigan Daily is a member of The
Associated Press and The Associated Collegiate Press.

uri AMay 29tk

Margarita Special every Tuesday -
$5 (small), $7 (jumbo), $9 (monster)

Back to Top

© 2020 Regents of the University of Michigan