100%

Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options

Download this Issue

Share

Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

This collection, digitized in collaboration with the Michigan Daily and the Board for Student Publications, contains materials that are protected by copyright law. Access to these materials is provided for non-profit educational and research purposes. If you use an item from this collection, it is your responsibility to consider the work's copyright status and obtain any required permission.

July 16, 1980 - Image 6

Resource type:
Text
Publication:
Michigan Daily, 1980-07-16

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

Page 6-Wednesday, July 16, 1980-The Michigan Daily
'tG: 3r:rY 7 2::«.""":v" "rn:rr"xr::;-r;r

Delegates
staying in
Windsor
a first

By MITCH STUART
Speil toTheDaily
WINDSOR, Ont. - The 2,500 Republican National Con-
vention delegates and alternates staying in hotels here are
the first such conventioneers who have ever been lodged in a
foreign country - but they are closer to the convention
goings-on than many delegates staying in Detroit suburbs.
Delegates from seven states and the Virgin Islands need
only take a short 15-minute bus ride through the Detroit-
Windsor tunnel to arrive at the Motor City's Joe Louis Arena.
"ONE OF THE great things for us is that we're so close
to the convention," said Kim Leupold, press aide to the
Maine delegation, which is staying in a Windsor hotel.
Lane Dwinell, chairman of the New Hampshire

delegation whicl is also staying in Windsor, said simply:
"It's a verycomfortable city."
Windsor Mayor Bert Weeks told The Daily he has had
very favorable reactions to the Detroit convention from his
constituents. Weeks said he thinks most Windsor citizens are
"very happy" to have the GOP in Detroit.
THE CANADIAN MAYOR added that, due to good coor-
dination between Windsor and Detroit, both cities will benefit
substantially from convention business.
Windsor Chamber of Commerce General Manager
Robert Richardson said, "With our economy not too brisk,
the convention is quite a relief for local businesses." He said
the convention would provide temporary work for about 400
laid-off Windsor citizens.

I

MUSIGAI8OGIETY
ANNOUNCES

_ '^
= s . __
+... y 'rim 'f " ,
"\ Y"

0

INTERNATIONAL
PRESENTATIONS
1980-1981

Summer Fare Series
Byron Janis, Pianist...................... Moo. July 21
Grant Johannesen, Pianist..................Mon. July 28
Northwood Symphonette
& Judy Manos, Vocalist..........-.........Mon. Aug. 4
Choral Union Series
Mstislav Rostropovich, Cellist................Sun. Oct. 12
Toronto Symphony Orchestra/Andrew Davis . . Tues. Oct. 21
San Francisco Symphony Orchestral
Edo de Waart-......... . ............. Sat. Oct. 25
Martti Talvela, Basso... -........ -.............Sun. Nov. 16
Los Angeles Philharmonic/Carlo Maria Giulini Sun. Nov. 23
Rudolf Serkin, Pianist-.....................Mon. Dec. 15
Pinchas Zukerman, Violinist & Violist......... Tues. Jan. 27
Oxana Yablonskaya, Pianist...................Sat. Feb. 7
Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestral
Andr6 Previn ....-......................Thurs. Mar. 19
Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra/Kurt Mazur ... Sun. Mar. 29
Chamber Arts Series
Smithsonian Chamber Ensemble............. Tues. Oct. 14
Academy of St. Martin in the Fields..........Mon. Nov. 3
Kenneth Gilbert, Harpsichordist.............Sat. Nov. 15
Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio..........Thurs. Nov. 20
Music from Marlboro.....................Thurs. Jan. 29
Guarneri String Quartet...................Thurs. Feb. 19
New York Chamber Soloists.................Sun. Mar. 15
Guarneri String Quartet....................Mon. Apr. 20
with David Shifrin, Clarinetist; Gyorgy Sandor, Pianist
Debut & Encore Series
Anthony di Bonaventura, Pianist..............Sat. Oct. 18
Murray Perahia, Pianist...................Thurs. Nov. 13
Horacio Gutierrez, Pianist.-................. Wed. Jan. 14
Walter Berry, Baritone-..-................ Sat. Mar. 7
Choice Series
(choose any 4 or 8 dates for a series)
Goldovsky Opera Company ...... Mon. & Tues. Oct. 6 & 7
Rossini's Barber of Seville (in English)
Ballet Folklorico Mexicano-.-........-.. Thurs. Oct. 9
Lar Lubovitch Dance Company . . Tues. & Wed. Oct. 28 & 29
The Feld Ballet-...................Mon.-Wed. Nov. 17-19
Caribbean Carnival of Trinidad-...............Fri. Nov. 21
New Swingle Singers. -.-......................Fri. Dec. 12
Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre...........Thurs.-Sat. Dec. 18-20
Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Ballet
Royal Ballet of Flanders.........Wed. & Thurs. Mar. 4 & 5
Alvin Ailey Dance Theatre .......... Mon.-Wed. Mar. 9-11
Western Opera Theater ................... Thurs. Apr. 23
Donizetti's Elixir of Love (in English)

d

0

0

Brochure with complete information
available upon request. Series orders now
being accepted; single tickets now available
for Summer Fare concerts. Single tickets
for all other concerts will go on sale
September 2. Contact University
Musical Society, Burton Tower, Ann Arbor,
Michigan 48109. Phone (313) 665-3717.
Performances are on the main campus of The
University of Michigan. Ample concert parking.

0

0

.

Back to Top

© 2021 Regents of the University of Michigan