Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options


Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

The University of Michigan Library provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes. These materials may be under copyright. If you decide to use any of these materials, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Bentley Historical Library at bentley.ref@umich.edu

July 19, 2012 - Image 16

Resource type:
The Detroit Jewish News, 2012-07-19

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

A handy guide to the Aug. 7 primary election.

Marielle Temkin

JN Intern


n the Aug. 7 primary, Michigan voters
will narrow a wide pool of candidates
down for the Nov. 6 general elec-
tion. Due to the 2010 census, districts in
Michigan have shifted. The categories below
include districts within the JN readership:

U.S. Senate
U.S. senators serve six year terms.

Democratic Sen. Debbie Stabenow of
Lansing is unopposed in the primary.
Republicans running to oppose her are
Clark Durant of Grosse Pointe Farms, co-
founder of the Cornerstone Schools; Gary
Glenn of Midland, conservative activist;
Randy Hekman of Grand Rapids, former
juvenile court judge; and Pete Hoekstra of
Holland, former U.S. representative.

U.S. Congress
U.S. representatives serve two-year terms.

8th District: Brighton, Clarkston,
East Lansing, Holly, Haslett, Howell,
Independence, Lansing (east of Waverly
Road), Mason, Okemos, Oxford, Rochester,
part of Rochester Hills and Springfield
• Republican: Brian Hetrick of
Brighton, Vernon Molnar of Holly and U.S.
Rep. Mike Rogers of Brighton
• Democrat: Lance Enderle of Lansing

9th District: Bloomfield Township,
Beverly Hills, Franklin, Royal Oak, Berkley,
Madison Heights, Hazel Park, Ferndale,
Pleasant Ridge, Huntington Woods, part
of Clawson, Southfield Township, Warren,
Clinton Township, Mt Clemens, St. Clair
Shores, part of Sterling Heights and
• Republicans: Gregory C. Dildilian
of Royal Oak and Don Volaric of Clinton
• Democrat: U.S. Rep. Sander Levin of
Roseville (former 12th District)

11th District: Troy, Birmingham,
Bloomfield Hills, most of Clawson, part
of Rochester Hills, Auburn Hills, Lake
Angelus, Waterford, White Lake Township,
Highland Township, Milford Village and
Township, Commerce Township, Wixom,
Wolverine Lake, Walled Lake, Novi, Novi
Township, Northville, Farmington (not
Farmington Hills), Lyon Township, South
Lyon, part of West Bloomfield Township,
Canton Township, Livonia, Plymouth and
Plymouth Township

16 July 19 . 2012

• Republican: Kerry Bentivolio of
• Republican Write-in Candidates:
Nancy Cassis of Novi and Drexel Morton
of Canton
• Democrats: William E Roberts of
Redford and Syed Taj of Canton

14th District: Farmington Hills, the
Grosse Pointes, Hamtramck, Harper
Woods, Keego Harbor, Lathrup Village,
northern and Downtown Detroit, Oak
Park, Orchard Lake, Pontiac, Royal
Oak, Southfield, Sylvan Lake and West
Bloomfield Township
• Republican: John Hauler of Grosse
Pointe Woods
• Democrats: U.S. Rep. Hansen Clarke
(former 13th District), Bob Costello and
Mary Waters, all of Detroit; U.S. Rep. Gary
Peters of Bloomfield Township (former 9th
District); and Mayor Brenda Lawrence of

State House
State representatives serve two-year terms.

26th District: Royal Oak and Madison
• Republican: Mark Bliss of Madison
Heights and William Sayre of Royal Oak
• Democrat: Jim Townsend of Royal Oak

35th District: Southfield, Lathrup Village,
Southfield Township, Beverly Hills and
• Republican: Timothy C. Sulowski of
• Democrats: Jenifer Marlene Franklin
of Lathrup Village, Rudy Hobbs of
Southfield, Charles Roddis of Lathrup
Village and Howard Worthy of Southfield

37th District: Farmington and
Farmington Hills
• Republican: Bruce Tilley of
• Democrat: Vicki Barnett of
Farmington Hills

39th District: Commerce Township,
Wolverine Lake, Wixom and part of West
Bloomfield Township
• Republicans: Albert Clawson
of Commerce, Brad Hantler of West
Bloomfield, Nicholas Kennedy of Wixom,
Klint Kesto of Commerce, Kristine Zrinyi
of Commerce and Bubba Urdan of West
• Democrats: Pam Jackson of
Commerce and Regina Strong of West

40th District: part of West Bloomfield,
Bloomfield Township, Bloomfield Hills
and Birmingham
• Republicans: Robert Lawrence
of Birmingham, Michael D. McCready
of Bloomfield Hills, David W. Potts of
Birmingham and David Wolkinson of West
• Democrat: Dorian Coston of West

43rd District: Independence Township,
Clarkston, most of Waterford Township
and Lake Angelus
• Republicans: Paul J. Greenawalt
of Waterford and Gail Haines of Lake
• Democrat: Neil Billington of

44th District: Springfield Township,
White Lake Township, part of Waterford,
Highland Township, Milford Village and
Milford Township
• Republican: Eileen Kowall of White
• Democrats: Tom Crawford of Milford
and Mark Venie of Davisburg

Judges: District Courts
District Court judges are elected for six year

36th District: Detroit
Linda D. Bernard, Christopher M.
Blount, Art Bowman, Andrea J. Bradley,
Wanda Evans, Regina E. Jones, Alicia
Jones-Coleman, Douglas Monds, Tonya
Myers Phillips and Cliff Woodards II, all
of Detroit

44th District: Royal Oak
Carlo P. Ginotti, Derek Meinecke and
Edward Nahhat, all of Royal Oak

46th District Southfield
Charesa Johnson, Stephen P. Korn,
Omar S. Najor, Debra Nance, Donna
Posey, Bill Seikaly and Towana Tate, all of

48th District: Bloomfield, West
Bloomfield, Birmingham and Bloomfield
Josh Arnkoff of Bloomfield Hills,
incumbent Diane D'Agostini of
Bloomfield Hills, Gary R. Sanfield of
Clinton Township and Steven Schwartz of
Bloomfield Hills

Judges: Circuit Courts
Circuit judges are elected for six-year terms.

3rd Circuit: Wayne County
Karen Braxton of Canton, Kevin Cox of
Livonia, Jane Ellen Gillis of Grosse Pointe
Farms, Adel Harb of Dearborn, Dana
Margaret Hathaway of Grosse Pointe Farms,
Rohn Mitchell of Detroit, Brian L. Morrow of
Detroit, Ann Kelly Ramsey of Livonia, Mark
Somers of Dearborn, John Joseph Sullivan of
Northville and David D. Whitaker of Detroit

6th Circuit: Oakland County
Dan Christ of Bloomfield, Sahera
Housey of Novi, Karen McDonald of Royal
Oak, Jason Pernick of Walled Lake and
Layne Ashley Sakwa of Bloomfield Hills

Oakland County Board of
Commissioners serve two-year terms. Their
primary responsibility is to adopt the annu-
al county budget.

9th District. Novi, Northville and Novi
• Republican: Kathy S. Crawford of Novi
• Democrat: Gwen Markham of Novi

12th District: part of Bloomfield,
Bloomfield Hills and Birmingham
• Republican: Shelley Goodman Taub
of Bloomfield Hills
• Democrat: Paul Secrest of Bloomfield

13th District: part of West Bloomfield,
part of Farmington Hills and part of
• Republican: Al Zaparackas of
Farmington Hills
• Democrat: Marcia Gershenson of
Bloomfield Hills

17th District: Lathrup Village and part of
• Republican: Milton Dzodin of Southfield
• Democrat Nancy L. Quarles of Southfield

18th District: Hazel Park, Ferndale, Royal
Oak, part of Oak Park and Huntington
• Republican: Steven Zimberg of
Huntington Woods
• Democrats: Craig Covey of Ferndale
and Helaine M. Zack of Huntington Woods

Unregistered voters: The deadline to register
for the Aug. 7 primary has passed. Register
for the Nov. 6 general election by Oct. 9. _j

Back to Top

© 2021 Regents of the University of Michigan