Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options


Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

The University of Michigan Library provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes. These materials may be under copyright. If you decide to use any of these materials, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Bentley Historical Library at bentley.ref@umich.edu

June 19, 2008 - Image 24

Resource type:
The Detroit Jewish News, 2008-06-19

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.


R ug

M etro



The Original Since 1939



Drop Off


Your Oriental / Area Rugs at any
Original Hagopian Rug Care Center
and we'll clean every other one


24 Hour Water and Fire Damage Response

In Home Cleaning


Rooms* of
Carpet cleaned


Rooms* of
Carpet cleaned

Sofa or
2 Chairs* cleaned

JHSM Co-President Sidney Bolkosky, Arnie Collens, Mike Zeltzer, Al
Taubman, Mary Lou Zieve and Co-President Ellen Cole

Expect the best...Expect the purple truck!

*Some restrictions appb.,

We're Your
Leather Cleaning Specialists


Rug Care Centers


Oak Park


Ann Arbor

8 Mile W / Coolidge 12 Mile & Novi Rd S. Old Woodward N 14 1/2

The Courtyard Shops

NEWT titolovt.

Janet Marie &


ArChibCddi S


Saturday, July 19th


h S e-

3rd Saturday of Every Month

Join Us June 21st • 1 p.m. • Orchard Mall Center Court

The Chris Clark
Magic di Puppet Show


Orchard Lake Road • North of Maple




June 19 • 2008

Historical Society Honors
The 49th annual meeting of the Jewish
Historical Society of Michigan took
place May 27 at Temple Beth El in
Bloomfield Township.
The program spotlighted two com-
munity leaders who have played
principal roles in the preservation and
advancement of Jewish culture:
'keynote speaker A. Alfred Taubman,
the real estate and regional shop-
ping center entrepreneur who wrote
the book Threshold Resistance: The
Extraordinary Career of a Retailing
• and 2008 Leonard N. Simons
History Award winner George (Mike)
Zeltzer, honored for significant contri-
butions toward edcuating, celebrating
and promoting the outstanding contri-
butions of the Jews of Michigan.

Special recognition was given to
outgoing treasurer Bill Hirschorn and
Volunteers of the Year Ruthe Goldstein
and Linda Yellin.
The program included election and
announcement of new officers and board
members. For 2008-09, the officers will
be: co-presidents, Ellen Cole and Arnie
Collens; co-vice presidents of program-
ming, Harriet Siden and Myrle Leland;
vice president of membership, Lois
Freeman; treasurer, Neil Gorosh; record-
ing secretary, Margery Jablin.
Other members of the board of
directors are Sharon Alterman, Gerald
Cook, Ruthe Goldstein, Marc Manson,
Sheri Schiff, Carol Weisfeld and Linda
Yellin. New members of the advisory
board are Ruth Beresh, Bob Mattler,
Susan Pappas, Sandy Schuster and
Gershon Weiner.

Hadassah Installation
Linda Glass and Sheila Schiffer were
installed as co-presidents of Tikvah
Group of the Greater Detroit Chapter
of Hadassah at its June 3 installation
luncheon at Tam O'Shanter Country
Club in West Bloomfield.
Former chapter and Tikvah Group
president Susan Luria was the install-
ing officer. Barbara Charlip and
Linda Sherr were recognized with the
"Woman of the Year Award" for many
years of service to Tikvah Group in
their various leadership positions. Also
at the Chapter level in 2008 -2009,
Barbara Charlip will continue to serve
as co-chair of the Doll Project and
Linda Sherr as co-chair of the Opening
Meeting committee.
Elected to serve one year terms on
the Tikvah Group board are community
service co-vice presidents Susan Belen
and Mona Shane; education co-vice

presidents Shelley Boschan and Nancy
Jonas, co-vice presidents of membership
Vera Gell and Nancy Spector; co-vice
presidents of programming Barbara
Charlip and Karen Pollak; corresponding
secretary Donna Phillips; recording sec-
retary Jackie Michaelson; and treasurer
JoAnne Nosan.
Appointed to serve one-year terms
are sunshine and tribute chair Betty
Chernoff; member-at-Iarge Suzi
Epstein; major gifts chair Susan
Luria; communications chair Barbara
Moretsky; and life membership chair
Linda Sherr. Immediate past chapter
and former Tikvah Group president
Judi Schram gave an invocation. Sue
Kaufman led the nominating with
members Nancy Bechek Bluth, Lauren
Bruss, Joan Epstein, Linda Glass,
JoAnne Nosan, Sherrie Stem and
adviser Susan Luria.

Back to Top

© 2021 Regents of the University of Michigan