100%

Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options

Share

Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

The University of Michigan Library provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes. These materials may be under copyright. If you decide to use any of these materials, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Bentley Historical Library at bentley.ref@umich.edu

August 27, 2004 - Image 8

Resource type:
Text
Publication:
The Detroit Jewish News, 2004-08-27

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

jnonline WalgAf:TdE

DETROIT JEWISH NEWS

vvww.detroitjewishnews.ccnninN

) Keep up with news of the Detroit
Jewish community when away
through the online window of
wvvvv.detroitjewishnews.com

PUBLISHER]

jewish.com

Arthur M. Horwitz
ahorwitz@thejewishnews.com

GENERAL MANAGER!

i

/EDITORIAL'
Editor
Robert A. Sklar
rsklar@thejewishnews.com

F. Kevin Browett
kevin@jewish.com

) Great Russian North

On the www.jewish.com JBooks
channel, David Silverberg reviews
Natasha and Other Stories, which
uses the Toronto experience as a
frame for the classic immigration
narrative.

Associate Editor
Alan Hitsky
ahitsky@thejewishnews.com

/ADVERTISING SALES'

Sales Manager
Dean Dimitrieski
ddimitrieski@thejewishnews.com

Arts Editor
Gail Zimmerman
gzimmerman@thejewishnews.com

Senior Account Executives
Kathy Johnson
Rick Nessel

"WE'VE GOT YOU COVERED"

Who do you think would be
a better friend to Israel as
president during the next
four years:
George Bush or John Kerry?

Account Executives
Claudia Gerard
Rebecca Holmes
Melissa Litvin
Heidi Martin
Anna Nicholas
Marcy Rastigue
Kristen Wargelin

JN Platinum Associate Editor
Linda Bachrack
lbachrack@oaklandstyle.com

NEWS DESK:
Story Development Editor
Ken Guten Cohen
kcohen@thejewishnews.com

To answer, click on

wwwjewish.corn

Last week's jewish.com
survey question asked:

Did the judo federation wait
too long to react to the
Iranian athlete's refusal to
fight the Israeli in the
Olympic competition?

87% said yes
13% said no

jnadvertisers
online

www.detroitjewishnews.com/advertisers

FUNERAL CHAPEL
Ira Kaufman Chapel... www.irakaufman.com

FINE JEWELRY

Tapper's Jewelry ... www.tappers.com

AUTOMOTIVE

Avis Ford ... www.avisford.net

CALLING CARDS

E-Shop Enterprises ... www.uniontelecard.com

8/27

1526 OTTAWA STREET
WINDSOR, CANADA
www.freeds.com

2004

1-877-5-FREEDS

yr'

8

(537-3337)

For online
advertising, call

248-354-6060

Staff Writer/Columnist
Harry Kirsbaum
b.kirsbaum@thejewisluiews.com

Inside Sales Representatives
Sheryl Alpern
Elizabeth Friedman
Jan Haskell
Barbara Lopez
Dharlene Norris
June Thiesmeyer

Staff Writers
Shelli Liebman Dorfman
sdorfman@thejewishnews.com

Sharon Luckerman
sluckerm@thejewishnews.com

Sales Coordinators
Kristen M. Komlen
Mina Vickers

BUSINESS OFFICES
Accounting Manager
Irene Shotkin

PUBLISHED BY:
Jewish Renaissance Media

JN Platinum Editor
Carla Jean Schwartz
cschwartz@oaklandstyle.com

Inside Sales Manager
Meg Lyczak
mlymak@thejewishn.ews.com

dotCOM SURVEY

/COMMUNITY
( ADVISORY BOARDI
Marc Bakst
Marion Freedman
Mindy Soble
Sally Krugel
Lila Lazarus
Steven Schanes
David Techner
Gary Torgow
Jeff Weingarten, M.D.

News Desk Assistant
Sy Manello
smanello@thejevvishnews.com

I

COPY DESK:
Senior Copy Editor
David Sachs
dsachs@thejewishnews.com

Executive Assistant/
Benefits Administrator
Rita Geiringer

Copy Desk Assistant
Bobbi Charnas
bcharnas@thejewishnews.com

Office Staff
Maya Kay
Jan Shain
Pamela Turner

Contributing Editor
Bob Menaker
bmenaker@adjewishtimes.com

Collection Analyst
Hazel Bender

/CREATIVE SERVICES

AppleTree Editor
Elizabeth Applebaum
appletree@thejewishnews.com

I

creativeservices@thejewislinevvs.com

Senior Columnist
Danny Raskin
dannyraskin@sbcglobal.net

Production Director
Michelle Sheridan

Creative Director
Deborah Schultz

'Graphic Artists
Cathy Ciccone
Jean Etherington
Kelli Johnson
Anne Lada
Donna Pace
Todd Skiba
Libby Welch

FULFILLMENT'
circulationdesk@thejewishnews.com
Circulation Supervisor
Barb Yessian
Circulation/Customer Service Rep
Fenton Jones

\



PHOTOGRAPHY I

Staff Photographer
Angie Basis

Chairman
Michael H. Steinhardt

President
Arthur M. Horwitz

I

Vice Presidents
E Kevin Browett
Stephen M. Levene
Sylvia Boyko Stafford

Controller
Craig R. Phipps

Editorial Director
Robert A. Sklar

Contributing Editor
Jonathan Friendly
jfriendly@thejewishnews.com

Information Tec h nology Manager
Deanna Luoma

Marketing Director
Illana P. Greenberg

National Account Manager
\NMichael Durham

DEPARTMENTS I

General Offices -
248-354-6060

Circulation -
248-351-5174

Classified Advertising -
248-351-5100
Fax 248-304-0049
Deadline: Tuesday, 3 p.m.

Display Advertising -
Fax: 248-304-0032
Deadline: Monday, 4:30 p.m.

Editorial -
Fax: 248-304-8885
Deadline: All public and social
announcements must be
typewritten, double-spaced and
received by 3 p.m. Wednesday,
eight days prior to desired date
of publication.

Subscriptions:
1 year
2 years
Per year out-of-state
Per year foreign

$56
$99
$75
$142

JN ONLINE'
Webmaster
Suzy Sherman
ssherman@jewish.com

Detroit Jewish News
29200 Northwestern Highway
Suite 110
Southfield, MI 48034

Online Store Manager
Shari Zingle
store@jewish.com

©COPYRIGHT 2004
DETROIT JEWISH NEWS

OUR JN MISSIONIThe Jewish News

aspires to communicate news
and opinion that's useful, engaging, enjoyable and unique. It strives to reflect
the full range of diverse viewpoints while also advocating positions that
strengthen Jewish unity and continuity. We desire to create and maintain a
challenging, caring, enjoyable work environment that encourages creativity and
innovation. We acknowledge our role as a responsible, responsive member of
the community. Being competitive, we must always strive to be the most
respected, outstanding Jewish community publication in the nation. Our
rewards are informed, educated readers, very satisfied advertisers, contented
employees and profitable growth.

Back to Top

© 2021 Regents of the University of Michigan