100%

Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options

Share

Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

The University of Michigan Library provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes. These materials may be under copyright. If you decide to use any of these materials, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Bentley Historical Library at bentley.ref@umich.edu

January 23, 2004 - Image 8

Resource type:
Text
Publication:
The Detroit Jewish News, 2004-01-23

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

JEWISH
RENAISSANCE

DETROIT JEWISH NEWS

www.detroitjewishnews.co

PUBLISHER

EDITORIAL:

Arthur M. Horwitz
ahorwitz@thejewishnews.com

Editor
Robert A. Sklar
rsklar@thejewishnews.com

ADVERTISING SALES:

Sales Manager
Dean Dimitrieski
ddimitrieski@thejewishnews.com

Account Executives
Claudia Gerard
Sue Maniloff
Heidi Martin
Rick Nessel
Marcy Rastigue
Kristen Wargelin
Melissa Wolf-Litvin

34 36 38 40 42 44 46 48 50 52 54 56 58 60 62

Ext • ho S.
Shorts

66 68 70 72 74 76

nannannimunimmumnimmuluni
111111:110111311311111111111131111111111111111111111111111111111111

2M11111111E1101111111111:11111311131311E11013113111113111131131E11121
117111111111111111113131E11111311111311131E1113113 111:11111131E1131131111131
1=11111111111111111101111011:111131111131131111131:111:111[111111111111111111
Re utar Porn 111•1113111:11[11E11131EllEUE11131EUE031311111111111111111111111
Shod Porn
IIIIIIIIF,I1B1HIEIFIIHIIIEIIIEHIMIMHIIIIIIIHIIINIMIOHII-
Tali Ptldt>
11111111111131EIHINICIFIFIFIE111311111111111111111.1111
,woui -
‘ttattiv,

WIPIRE

www.freeds.com

5 MINUTES FROM THE TUNNEL, TAKE RIVERSIDE DRIVE EAST PAST CASINO.
8 BLOCKS TO GLADSTONE TURN RIGHT 7 BLKS. TO FREEDS OF WINDSOR

1526 Ottawa Street • Windsor

Hours: Mon-Wed 9-6, Thurs & Fri 9-9, Sat 9-6, Sun 12-4

1-877-5-FREEDS

Inside Sales Manager
Meg Lyczak
nilyczak@thejewishnews.com

Inside Sales Representatives
Sheryl Alpem
Elizabeth Friedman
Jan Haskell
Barbara Lopez
Dharlene Norris
June Thiesmeyer

Sales Coordinators
Kristen M. Komlen
Mina Vickers

BUSINESS OFFICES:
Accounting Manager
Irene Shot k in

Administrative Assistant
Rita Geiringer

Office Staff
Jan Shain
Pamela Turner
Donna Pace

NEW 2004
VOLVO S40

$4,000
DEALER CASH
FOR YOU

Collection Analyst
Hazel Bender

CREATIVE SERVICES:
creativeservices@thejewishnews.com

Creative Services Manager
Michelle Sheridan

Design & Graphics Specialist
Zina Bahrou

CAN YOUR CAR SURVIVE A
HEAD-ON COMPARISON?

Graphic Artists
Cathy Ciccone
Kelli Johnson
Anne Lada
Deborah Schultz
Todd Skiba
Libby Welch

YOU THINK ABOUT THE THINGS PEOPLE
EXPECT IN A CAR. LIKE A COMFORTABLE .
CABIN, RELIABLE PERFORMANCE, PERHAPS
EVEN A BIT OF FUN. BUT YOU ALSO THINK
ABOUT THE THINGS PEOPLE DESERVE IN A
CAR. LIKE - A SIDE IMPACT PROTECTION SYS-
TEM, FULL-LENGTH INFLATABLE SIDE CUR-
TAINS AND A WHIPLASH PROTECTION-SEAT-
ING SYSTEM. YOU THINK ABOUT THAT AND
THEN YOU BUILD A CAR WITH STANDARD
SAFETY FEATURES SOME OTHER CARS DONT
EVEN OFFER AS OPTIONS. THE TURBO-
CHARGED VOLVO 540. VISIT YOUR VOLVO
RETAILER OR VOWOCARS.US

CARE

Staff Photographer
Angie Baan

Contributing Photographers
Glenn Triest
Bill Hansen

∎ 44y.. 7004 S40 sedans Oner vald on 0-sictl, unis city. Fatl AD( Non mcing apples

Cars try Volvo Factory Scheduled Maintenance
Included an all new 2004 models for 3 years
or 36,000 miles, wnlchever comes WV'
', See your Volvo retailer tor details.

vow()
for life

DWYER

SONS
VOLVO
248-624-0400

2004

8

On Maple Rd., West of Haggerty

Volvosalesgdwyerandsons.corn
www.dwyerandsons.com

Marc Bakst
Marion Freedman
Mindy Soble Kaufman
Sally Krugel
Lila I Azarus
Steven Schanes
David Techner
Gary Torgow
Jeff Weingarten, M.D.

DEPARTMENTS:

NEWS DESK:

General Offices -
248-354-6060

Story Development Editor
Keri Guten Cohen
kcohen@thejewishnews.com

Circulation -
248-351-5174

Staff Writer/Online Columnist
Harry Kirsbaum
hkirsbaum@thejewishnews.com

Staff Writers
Shelli Dorfman
sdorfinan@thejewishnews.com

Sharon Luckerman
sluckerm@thejewishnews.com

News Desk Assistant
Sy Manello
smanello@thejewishnews.com

COPY DESK:

Senior Copy Editor
David Sachs
dsachs@thejewishnews.com

Copy Editor/Education Writer
Diana Lieberman
dlieberm@thejewishnews.com

Copy Desk Assistant
Bobbi Charnas
bcharnas@thejewishnews.com

Copy Editor
Jim Ritz
jritz@thejewishnews.com

Contributing Editor
Bob Menaker
bmenaker@adjewishtimes.com

AppleTree Editor
Elizabeth Applebaum
appletree@thejewishnews.com

Senior Columnist
Danny Raskin
dannyraskin@sbcglobal.net

Local Columnist
Carla Jean Schwartz
cschwartz@oaklandstyle.com

..

circulationdesk@thejewislmews.com

Circulation Supervisor
Barb Yessian
Circulation/Customer Service Rep
Fenton Jones

JN ONLINE
General Manager
E KeVin Browett
kevin@jewish.com

Classified Advertising -
248-351-5100
Fax: 248-304-0049
Deadline: Tuesday, 3 p.m.

Display Advertising -
248-354-6060
Fax: 248-304-0032
Deadline: Monday, 4:30 p.m.

Editorial -
248-354-6060
Fax: 248-304-8885
Deadline: All public and social
announcements must be
typewritten, double-spaced and
received by 3 p.m. Wednesday,
eight days prior to desired date
of publication.

Subscriptions:
1 year
2 years
Per year out-of-state
Per year foreign

556
$99
$75
$142

Detroit Jewish News
29200 Northwestern Highway
Suite 110
Southfield, MI 48034

©COPYRIGHT 2004
DETROIT JEWISH NEWS

PUBLISHED BY:
Jewish Renaissance Media

Chairman
Michael H. Steinhardt

President
Arthur M. Horwitz

Vice President
Sylvia Boyko Stafford

Interactive Media Director
F. Kevin Browett

Controller
Craig IL Phipps

Editorial Director
Robert A. Sklar

Contributing Editor
Jonathan Friendly
jfriendly@thejewishnews.com

Information Technology Manager
Deanna Luoma

Marketing Director
Illana P. Greenberg

Webmaster
Suzy Sherman
ssherman@jewish.com

AND

1 / 2 3

Arts & Entertainment Editor
Gail Zimmerman
gzimmerman@thejewishnews.com

FULFILLMENT:

BY VOLVO

314

Associate Editor
Alan Hitsky
ahitsky@thejewishnews.com

COMMUNITY
ADVISORY BOARD:

Online Store Manager
Shari Zingle
store@jewish.com

Our JN Mission: The Jewish News aspires to communicate news and opinion that's useful, engaging,

e njoyable and unique. It strives to reflect the full range of diverse viewpoints while also advocating positions
t hat strengthen Jewish unity and continuity. We desire to create and maintain a challenging, caring, enjoyable

OPEN
SATURDAYS

799970

work environment that encourages creativity and innovation. We acknowledge our role as a responsible,
esponsive member of the community. Being competitive, we must always strive to be the most respected,
outstanding Jewish community publication in the nation. Our rewards are informed, educated readers, very
satisfied advertisers, contented employees and profitable growth.

Back to Top

© 2021 Regents of the University of Michigan