100%

Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options

Share

Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

The University of Michigan Library provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes. These materials may be under copyright. If you decide to use any of these materials, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Bentley Historical Library at bentley.ref@umich.edu

March 18, 1994 - Image 72

Resource type:
Text
Publication:
The Detroit Jewish News, 1994-03-18

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

MEL ..lasmnimmoN

Most marshmallows on the market, even those labeled "Kosher", contain GELATIN made from
MARSHMALLOWS
non-Kosher animal sources and are not recommended for Pesach nor for year-round use. (ELYON marshmallows are
Kosher for year-round, but not for Pesach.)
PET FOOD Most commercial pet food contains actual chometz (wheat, barley, starch, etc.) and may not be used on
Pesach. Non-chometz substitutes should be used.
"PLAY-DOH" is chometz.
COMBAT ROACH KILLING (CONTROL) SYSTEM and BLACK FLAG ROACH ENDER contain a chometz bait (which is
non-toxic to humans) and should be put away and sold with the chometz.
BALLOONS It Is advisable not to blow up balloons by mouth on Pesach, due to the powder coating on the Inside which
may contain chometz.
TRANSPARENT PRINTED VINYL TABLECLOTHS made in Taiwan have a white powder coating (that can be detected by
rubbing one's finger along the surface) which may be chometz.
KITNIYOS DERIVATIVES Those who follow the prevalent custom of not using any derivatives of kitniyos (legumes) on
Pesach, such as corn oil, corn syrup, dextrose, soybean oil and lecithin, should be aware that some products with Kosher
for Pesach certifications do contain one or more of these ingredients. This applies especially to imported candies and
chocolates. A careful check of the ingredients should be made. (Lecithin is sometimes listed just as "emulsifier", and corn
syrup as "glucose".)
BUYING CHOMETZ AFTER PESACH Chometz which was in the possession of a Jewish store on Pesach (i.e. not sold to
a non-Jew), may not be used after Pesach. Chometz which is delivered to a Jewish store during Pesach is not included in
any previous sale of chometz to a non-Jew, and therefore, may not be used after Pesach.
Locally, the following supermarkets and drug stores are not Jewish owned: A&P, Farmer Jack, Kroger, Meijer, Efros
Drugs at 10 Mile & Greenfield, F & M.

-

-

-

-

-

-

II. PRODUCT INFORMATION

FOLGERS COFFEES are pat ® approved for Pesach, even if the label bears an Op, due to being manufactured on the
same equipment as Folgers decaffeinated coffee, which may contain chometz. This applies to all types of Folgers Coffee.
ROKEACH SOUPS Some cans of ROKEACH CHICKEN CONSOMME and ROKEACH CHICKEN CONSOMME WITH
MATZOH BALLS have a plain O on their original label, but also bear a sticker saying " 'Op - Kosher for Passover". These
stickers should not be relied upon without checking the code that is embossed or printed on one end of the can. If the fifth
digit of the first line is a 4 or 5, that can is Kosher for Pesach. If it is a 3 or lower, it should not be used for Pesach. (The
different numbers in the Jewish Press "Kashruth Alert" of February 25 are an error.) -- Cans bearing ©p on their original
labels are correctly marked.

-

► I

r

••k/

r •

11

r •

••■

la

r •

I

MATZO SNACK BITS The first production of these products was mistakenly lightly salted just before being placed in the
baking oven, contrary to established custom. Since they had already been baked, the O allowed their distribution
"B'dievad" (after the fact). Consult your Rav regarding the advisability of buying these products. Packages from this
production list salt in the ingredients. -- Subsequent productions were not salted, and can be identified by the absence of
salt in the ingredient listing.
LACTAID, in both caplets and drops forms, contains a lactase enzyme that should be considered chometz. (Consult your
Rav regarding the permissibility of adding the drops to milk before Pesach, or of buying LACTAID milk [not Cholov Yisroel]
before Pesach.)
One non-Pesach batch, bearing the code NOVO495A, was mistakenly
BLOOM'S CHOCOLATE FLAVORED SYRUP
labeled Op Kosher for Passover. All stores which received this product were notified in November totlack out the Pesach
marking. All other codes of this product with Pesach marking are correctly marked.
BABY TOVLI BABY FRUIT DESSERTS are now available in six varieties bearing an Op.
BEECH-NUT BABY FOODS in the following varieties are available for Pesach in some areas, only when bearing ©p on
the label: STAGE 1 - Applesauce, Bananas, Carrots, Sweet Potatoes; STAGE 2 - Apples & Cherries, Apples & Bananas,
Apricots with Pears & Apples, Bananas with Pears & Apples; STAGE 3 - Applesauce, Bananas.
MANISCHEWITZ WINES Only those bearing an 0 and "Kosher for Passover", or ®p, are Kosher for Pesach. The same
varieties come in both Pesach and non-Pesach types, so each label must be carefully checked.

-

-

-

In general, all plain, raw Empire poultry that has no added ingredients and is not
EMPIRE POULTRY PRODUCTS
prepared (i.e. not fried, cooked, roasted, smoked, coated, breaded or in sauce) is Kosher for Pesach without any special
label. This includes EMPIRE GROUND TURKEY and GROUND CHICKEN in plastic casings. However, EMPIRE TURKEY
BURGERS and CHICKEN BURGERS are no/ Kosher for Pesach this year.
The following prepared Empire products are available for Pesach, only if their individual wrapper states "Kosher for
Passover": CHICKEN IN BARBECUE SAUCE, TURKEY IN BARBECUE SAUCE, COOKED TURKEY BREASTS, CHICKEN
FRANKS, TURKEY FRANKS, prepackaged DELI SLICES & PASTRAMI slab. -- RENDERED CHICKEN FAT, in 7 oz.
plastic jars, is Kosher for Pesach only with an © embossed into the metal lid. -- We have found that stores often
mistakenly place the non-Pesach types in the "Passover" section of the freezer; both store personnel and consumers
should carefully check each label. - The "K.P." sticker affixed to the outside of some bulk cartons cannot be relied upon.

-


























1 •

Back to Top

© 2020 Regents of the University of Michigan