Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options


Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

The University of Michigan Library provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes. These materials may be under copyright. If you decide to use any of these materials, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Bentley Historical Library at bentley.ref@umich.edu

October 30, 1992 - Image 17

Resource type:
The Detroit Jewish News, 1992-10-30

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

"I've known Marilyn Kelly for many years as an
outstanding educator, lawyer and judge. Her
candidacy for the Michigan Supreme Court
deserves the vote of every person who believes in
firm, fair and equal justice."
Senator Carl Levin

Veggie Burgers
At Conclave



here won't be a camp-
fire with hot dogs to-
night. And you can
save those juicy camp
burgers for next year.
One hundred sixty B'nai
B'rith Youth Organization
members are heading off to
the annual BBYO fall con-
lave this weekend. But it's
not the same camp nor the
usual food.
When the Fresh Air Socie-
ty closed the main facilities
at Camp Maas during the
winter months in an econo-
my move two years ago, it
left BBYO in the larch. Last
year, the teen-age group
split its members, holding
separate conclaves in Wind-
sor and at Camp Maas'
Butzel Conference Center.
This year, BBYO con-
tracted to rent Echo Grove
Camp, east of Oxford, Mich.
Because Echo Grove has a

One hundred sixty
BBYO members
will attend a
conclave this
weekend. The bill
of fare will be
dairy and

non-kosher kitchen, the
BBYO teens will dine on
dairy and vegetarian cook-
ing this weekend.
Fresh Air has now
modified its winter policies,
but too late for BBYO, which
had already signed with
Echo Grove. Camp Maas
rented its facilities to 60
groups during September
and October and will sponsor
its annual winter camp in
According to Fresh Air
Executive Director Harvey
Finkelberg, the camp offers
its facilities, ropes course
and pioneer skills programs
during September and Oc-
tober and from March to
June. But its outdoor edu-
cation programs remain
closed in the fall. "We didn't
have the kind of demand
that warranted the ex-
pense," Mr. Finkelberg said.
"Hopefully, next year
BBYO will come back to us,"
he said.
Kosher campfires almost
guarantee it. Ei

Our choice

"Superbly qualified,
tough minded...
an excellent jurist."

• Judge, Michigan Court of Appeals
■ Former President, Women
Lawyers Association of Michigan
■ Elected twice to the Michigan
State Board of Education
■ Former Chair,
Family Law Committee,
Oakland County Bar Assn.


Detroit Free Press
Michigan Education Association
Women Lawyers of Michigan
Michigan Abortion Rights Action League
Michigan Democratic Party
Michigan Farm Bureau
National Organization for Women (NOW)

Detroit Bar Association:

"Well Qualified"

(Rated higher than the incumbent)

Hon. Dennis Aaron
Nina Dodge Abrams
Judy Ancell
Harriet Arnovitz
Morris Arnovitz
Alice Audie/Fiegueroa
Hon. Richard Austin
Carl Austin
Mary Ball
C. Leslie Banas
Arda Barenholtz
Vicki Barnett
Patricia S. Barone
Michael W. Bartnik
Scott Bassett
Hon. Maxine Berman
Dr. Elizabeth Berman
Louise M. Bittker
Dr. James G. Bittker
James J. Blanchard
Irwin "B" Bodansky
Kathleen L. Bogas
Hon. David E. Bonior
Ronald M. Bookholder
Donna Bookholder
Ruth Bornstein
Susan Borovich
Michael Breshgold
Mark Brewer
Bryna Broder
Milt Broder
Hon. W. Perry Bullard
Hon. Daniel A. Burress
Eric Canvasser
Sue Ann Canvasser
Hon. Raymond A. Charron
Carole L. Chiamp
Hon. Michael Ciungan
Hon. David L. Clabuesch
Beverly Clark
Evelyn Cogan
Mitzi Cohen
Ina Cohen
Marshall J. Cohen
Beverly Cohen
Deborah Smulyan Cohn
Ann Cook
Mark Couzens
Michael Curhan
Suzan Curhan
Julia D. Darlow
Dr. Morrie and May
Laurence B. Deitch
Hon. John Dingell
Bettye S. Eikins
Hon. Jack Faxon
Sheldon A. Fealk
J. Kay Felt
David Fernquist
Dr. Robert Fink
Doris Fishman
Richard Frank
Fred Frank
Frieda Frazer
Ilene Weiss Fruitman
Hon. Mimi Gendreau
Lillian Genser
Elizabeth L. Gleicher
Morris Gleicher
Deborah L. Gordon
Lou Gordon

Henry S. Gornbein
Mark Granzotto
Irving Greenberg
Deena Greenberg
Hon. David Gubow
Hanley M. Gurwin
Barbara Gutman
Hon. William Hackel
Harvey Hauer
David Hecker
Leah Heller
Alexander Heller
Hon. Dennis M. Hertel
Albert Holtz
Sheridan Holzman
Elizabeth Howe
Helen R. Irving
Dr. David Jacobs
Mark Jacobs
Hon. Mildred Jeffrey
Sherrie L. Katz
Sheri Katzman
Hon. Ira Kaufman
Hon. Edward Michael
Hon. Dale Kildee
Carol King
Jean Ledwith King
Patti Knox
David R. Kripps
Joyce White Lalonde
Leo Lalonde
Sheldon Larky
Hon. Burton Leeland
Ezekiel Leikin
Glen Lenhoff
Jan. C. Leventer
Diana Leventer
Hon. Carl Levin
Hon. Sander Levin
Kathleen McCree Lewis
Barry Lipson
Judy Silberg Loebl
Richard I. Loebl
Joan Lovell
Hon. Maryann Mahaffey
Ann Malzberg
Hon. Carl Marlinga
Hon. Edward H.
David Melkus
Dr. Sidney Miller
Hon. Annetta Miller
Bruce Miller
Hon. Marie E. Miller
Elaine Mordorosian
Dr. Fred Morganroth
Janice Morganroth
Bob Nagle
Helen Naimark
Norman Naimark
Helen Netler
Evelyn Noveck
Eileen Nowikowski-Fink
Hon. John D. O'Hair
John Corbett O'Meara
Hon. Lillian Jaffe Oaks
Ellin Perlmutter
Bill Perlmutter
Hon. Larry Pernick
Helen 0. Petrauskas
Raymond V. Petrauskas

Harry M. Philo
Michael L. Pitt
Peggy Goldberg Pitt
Thomas G. Plunkett
Hon. Lana Pollack
Phil Power
Susan Reed
Carl M. Riseman
Barbara G. Robb
Michael A. Robbins
Norman A. Robbins
James C. Rose
David L. Rosenthal
Lillian Rosinger
Hon. Charlotte Rothstein
Ben Rothstein
Deborah Rubin
Dianne L. Rubin
Arnold Sabaroff
Pauline Sabaroff
Theodore Sachs
Gumecindo Salas
Sherwin Schreier
James Schuster
Stanley S. Schwartz
Ethel Schwartz
Doris Seifeit
Elsa M. Shartsis
Lynn H. Shecter
Norma Jean Shufro
David Silberg
Ethel Silberg
Anne Gonte Silver
Elizabeth Silverman
Sidney Silverman
David C. Sobelsohn
Michael B. Staebler
Sally W. Staebler
T. Mark Steckloff
Dr. Milton J. Steinhardt
Cheryl Sugerman
Kathryn Gilson Sussman
Ellen Tallerico
Mark L. Teicher
Laura Tireman
Lou Tireman
Donald F. Tucker
Richard Victor
Arlene Victor
John Voelpel
Dory Voss
Hon. Douglas J.M. Voss
Professor Leon H. Warshay
Diana Warshay, Ph.D.
Larry A. Weingarden
Mark Weiss
Nancy White
Roger Winkelman
Linda Winkelman
Stanley Winkelman
Margaret Winkelman
Arnold Winshall
Susan Winshall
Rose Wolock
David Wolock
Steve Wolock
Sandra Yelensky
Evelyn Zeidman
Allen Zemmol
Tina A. Zipser
Etta Zivian
Ann Zousmer


Elect Judge
Michigan Supreme Court

Paid for by the Committee to Elect Judge Marilyn Kelly to the Michigan Supreme Court,
30150 Telegraph Road, Bingham Farms, MI 48025.

Back to Top

© 2020 Regents of the University of Michigan