100%

Scanned image of the page. Keyboard directions: use + to zoom in, - to zoom out, arrow keys to pan inside the viewer.

Page Options

Share

Something wrong?

Something wrong with this page? Report problem.

Rights / Permissions

The University of Michigan Library provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes. These materials may be under copyright. If you decide to use any of these materials, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Bentley Historical Library at bentley.ref@umich.edu

December 17, 1965 - Image 16

Resource type:
Text
Publication:
The Detroit Jewish News, 1965-12-17

Disclaimer: Computer generated plain text may have errors. Read more about this.

Honor Schlossberg on 90th Birthday Scotland Yard

Called to Act on
New Incidents

First Rains Quench Drought Fears in Israel

(Direct JTA Teletype Wire
that the rain was too late for some
to The Jewish News)
TEL AVIV — The first major crops in the Negev, Israel's south-
rains of the current crop season ern area.
fell Tuesday night on large parts
of Israel, raising hopes that the
For Some
threat of a crippling drought might
be averted.
of the
However, agricultural officials
best
buys
said that the quantities were too
on new
small for immediate evaluation as
to the rainfall value. They said
Pontiacs

L 0 N D 0 N, (JTA) — Scotland
Yard officials promised that spe-
cial arrangements would be made
in an area of North London to
prevent a repetition of an incident
last Friday in which two Jewish
youths were attacked by a gang
of unidentified men. One of the
victims received many stab wounds THE DETROIT JEWISH NEWS
and Jews in the area were report- 16—Friday, December 17, 1965
ed concerned.
The promise was made to John
Dight, chairman of the defense
committee of the Board of Depu-
PERSONALLY ESCORTED BY
ties of British Jews. Mr. Dight
JULES DONESON
headed a Board delegation which
met with senior Scotland Yard of-
$
EVERYTHING
ficials. The Jewish leaders were
Leaving Feb. 20
told that both the local police
RESERVATIONS: CALL
force and Scotland Yard viewed
the attack, and other incidents in
BR 2-2400 or DI 1-7111
the area, with "extreme -serious-
ness."

and
Tempests

ASK
FOR

ISRAEL

AUL BERGH

AT

569

Joseph Schlossberg, patriarch of the Jewish labor movement,
was feted on his 90th birthday at the 42nd annual convention of
the National Committee for Labor Israel in New York. Schlossberg,
an active trade unionist for '75 years, was among the first Jewish
labor leaders to recognize the importance of aiding Histadrut in
Israel. Shown in photo (from left) are Schlossberg, Jacob S.
Potofsky, president, Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America;
Dr. Sol Stein, national director, Israel Histadrut Campaign; and
Yehoshua Levy, Histadrut treasurer.

`Friday the Rabbi S lept Late,' Herzog'
Published as Crest Book Paperbacks

Two of the outstanding best
sellers of the year, both of which
have been reviewed in these col-
umns, are now available in paper-
backs. They were published as
Crest Books by Fawcett Publica-
tions, Greenwich, Conn.
"Friday the Rabbi Slept Late"
by Harry Kemelman and "Her-
zog" by Saul Bellow have just
made their paperback appearance.
Both are noteworthy, and in
each instance they are certain to
increase the interest already dis-
played in the two great works.
Kemelman's is an unusual
mystery. It is not only a thrill-
er. It not only is noteworthy for
its plot, but it presents the
rabbi in such a fine light, it
causes him to be the one to
solve the murder mystery with
such brilliance, that this novel
earns the popularity it has
attained.
"Herzog" has retained interest
and the response still bears mixed
emotions. There are many who
decry the approach to the Jewish
characters. The Bellow tactic has
been condemned. Yet, there is no
denying the brilliance of the writ-

ing, the mastery of style. Else
"Herzog" could not have attained
the major position it has among
best sellers. The national award
Bellow has received for fiction,
earned by "Herzog," the novel's
attainment of the $10,000 interna-
tional literary prize and other
honors are the result of the sig-
nificance of this novel.
In • "F rid ay the Rabbi Slept
Late" we are presented with a
case that was branded "the Temple
Murder." It dragged in rabbi and
congregants, and the latter be-
came jittery.
But the talmudically trained
rabbi did his own thinking. He
turned sleuth, visited the room in
which the murdered girl lived,
figured out a possible reason for
her having left it in a nightgown
and raincoat and suggested that
the only man she might have dated
—a policeman, the one who lied
about not having seen the rabbi
on the night of the murder—could
be the guilty man.
That's how it developed, and
Jewish law as studied by Rabbi
Small in the Talmud came into
good use in solving the mystery.

Infant Killer
Birth defects rob our population
of an enormous number of life
years. Life years represent the
difference between a person's age
at death as compared to his normal
life expectancy. In terms of life
years lost, cancer is responsible
for an annual loss of 4.6 million
future years of life, and srtoke
2.1 million. Birth defects, causing
deaths both before and a f ter
birth, result in an estimated loss
of more than 37 million life years.

Packer Pontiac

18650 LIVERNOIS

1 block South of 7
U N 3-9300

Hanukah Greetings to Our Friends and Patrons

THE FABULOUS

STAR BAKERY

13505 W. 7 Mile at Hartwell
10 Mile at Greenfield
New Orleans Mall

Get personal. Have all your gifts
initialed V.O. this year.

Every drop of The Smooth Canadian shows you thought and thought.,
Seagram's V.O. does what no other whisky can— defines smooth
once and for all. Light? Of course. Wrapped with genius?
Let our picture answer. (No charge for looking—or for wrapping.)
Seagram's V.O. Canadian

Pantheon Defends Work of Soviet
Author, Controversial 'Abraham Tertz'

Pantheon Books has issued a
statement defending Andrei D.
Sinyaysky, a literary critic in the
Soviet Union arrested as the
pseudonymous, controversial Abram
Tertz. All of Tertz's work has been
published by Pantheon.
Tertz, whose works have been
smuggled from Russia into the
West since 1959, has been described
by the New York Times in a re-
cent editorial as "one of Rusgia's
most gifted writers." His books,
published by Pantheon, include
"The Trial Begins," "On Socialist
Realism," "Fantastic Stories," and
most recently "The IVIakepeace Ex-
periment."
According to the Times, Sin-
yaysky was reported to have
been arrested over a month ago
and is said to have confessed
to writing the Tertz works.
Initially the editor of Kultura, a
Polish literary journal published
in Paris and the recipient of the
Tertz manuscripts smuggled from
the Soviet Union, denied that
Andrei Sinyaysky was the author
of the works published under the
name Abram Tertz.
Several days ago the editor con-
firmed the identity of Tertz ex-

plaining he had received informa-
tion from Moscow that Sinyaysky
had confessed to Soviet authorities
that he was Abram Tertz.
The statement by Pantheon as-
serts "We have published all of
Abram Tertz's work. We do not
know who he is, or where he
lives. It does not matter to us.
What matters to all those who
care for Soviet writing is that
Russia has produced another great
author, a man who can still write
in the tradition of Gogol, Dostoev-
sky and Mayakovsky. He writes not
as an enemy of the USSR or of
the Soviet people. As do all great
authors, he writes of man's hopes
and man's failings. His work speaks
to all of us. It is part of Rus-
sia's contribution to mankind.
"If the Soviet government feels
that others have misused Tertz's
work," the statement went on, "it
is the propaganda battle of the
cold war that must be blamed
and not an author who writes as
authors must, because it is their
duty, their social responsibility.
"Abram Tertz is one of the great
Russian authors. Whoever he is,
he has done nothing that deserves
punishment."

UN 4-1635
EL 7-1291

DIAN. VVHIS

' , A BLEND

- c - rcs v ■ im15. , €

NIDE D ' AN6 AVMEO

cArtao49,"''', ",..

:M. WHISKY IS 53X

sq-EN0 , 7 , . t?

AND

YEAliS:(31.4

eoti o:. 0.

SEAGRAM E

.8b& pROOFH :.:::, ..

r1ti NADA' FiNt;

CANADIAN WHISKY—A BLEND OF SELECTED WHISKIES. SIX YEARS OLD. 86.8 PROOF. SEAGRAM DISTILLERS COMPANY, N.Y.C.

Back to Top

© 2021 Regents of the University of Michigan